Why I’m Never Coming Home

Britain has a reputation for bad weather.

I’ve never really minded it.  The first time I came to the UK, on an eight day whirlwind UK + Ireland tour just before the start of my 4th year of university it rained 75% of the time.  Which also happened to be my first trip abroad and was adventurously taken while I was recovering from my ankle surgery and still wearing an Aircast…..no joke, I tromped all around the UK + Ireland in one of these:

 

 

You may have been to London, or Edinburgh or pretty much anywhere here or continental Europe, and if you’ve been you’ll be aware that EVERYTHING, and I do mean everything, is on a hill, or has stairs!  Needless to say, I have fond memories of climbing to the top of Blarney Castle (wow, small, narrow, slippery, stone steps….built in 1446) in that ridiculous ‘moon-boot’.

But I digress.

What I’m trying to say is, especially since I grew up with the rainy and wet weather of Nova Scotia, the rain and wind and dampness over here doesn’t bother me at all.  You know what does?

This:

Temperature Edmonton

Gross.  Disgusting.  Please take all of my NOPES. Nope.  Nope.  Nope.  Nope.  Nope.

Even though I lived there for 7 years (wow, I lived in Edm for SEVEN YEARS?!?!), I can’t handle the cold.  I hate the snow and driving on bad roads.  You know what I don’t have to do here?  Drive.  I just take the bus.  I can drink as much as I want then get on the bus.  I just sit and chill out listening to my music on the way to work, no need to pay attention or focus, just relax and let someone else do the work for me.  I love it and it’s just lovely.

Friends are posting current freezing temperatures all over Canada, and I’m here, just smugly living it up and there’s not even any frost.

And why I never want to leave, not to rub it in, but:

Temperature

 

There you have it.  I kid, I’ll be home soon, as much as I love this adventure.  But a winter without snow has been amazing!

2 thoughts on “Why I’m Never Coming Home

  1. Deanie says:

    I read the headline, and as I’m reading this post, all I’m thinking is, “Excuse me, Shell, but you certainly do need to come home! “So glad you ended this blog the way you did. Love the diary….kept it coming!

    Like

Leave a Reply

